5. When do auto insurance rates for teens start to go down?
Insurance agents say that once young drivers get three clean years of driving experience under their belts, their rates drop significantly.
In California, after two years without a ticket or accident, teen drivers with Farmers Insurance save about 15 percent, says Lehman. "After year three, they'll get another 20 percent off their rate as a good driver discount,” as required by the state. After nine years of driving experience, Lehman adds, they'll get a standard rating and lose the "youthful driving" surcharge.
Meanwhile, in Massachusetts, car insurance rates for teen drivers typically drop by about 50 percent after three years of driving with a clean record, and then fall another 50 percent after six years of good driving, Webber says. Generally, insurance rates also decline around age 25.
Pages in this slideshow:
- Top reader questions about insurance for teen drivers
- 1. When do I have to add my teen to my insurance -- when he or she gets a learner's permit, or a driver's license?
- 2. Can my insurance company force me to add my teen to my policy even though I don't allow him or her to drive yet?
- 3. Is it cheaper to put my teen on his or her own policy, or on the family policy?
- 4. If my teen isn't on my insurance and crashes the car, is the damage covered?
- 5. When do auto insurance rates for teens start to go down?
- 6. How can I minimize the insurance costs of a teen driver?
- 7. How much will my rates go up if my teen crashes or gets tickets?
- 8. Will the type of car my teen driver uses affect my premiums?