insure logo

Why you can trust Insure.com

quality icon

Quality Verified

At Insure.com, we are committed to providing honest and reliable information so that you can make the best financial decisions for you and your family. All of our content is written and reviewed by industry professionals and insurance experts. We maintain strict editorial independence from insurance companies to maintain our editorial integrity, so our recommendations are unbiased and are based on a comprehensive list of criteria.

Whether you’re a first-time driver or have been driving for years, one of the most important things is to make sure you have car insurance coverage. Depending on your state, the minimum amount of required car insurance differs. 

However, the minimum amount of coverage required by law is usually not enough to fully cover the costs of an accident and experts recommend that drivers purchase additional coverage beyond the minimum requirements. If you don’t have enough coverage,  you may be left with expensive bills if you’re in an accident. 

Insure.com’s state minimum car insurance calculator helps you determine how much car insurance you need to comply with your state’s laws. Enter your state, vehicle make/model and model year below. The calculator uses these details to generate the annual average for state-minimum car insurance in your state.

Average Insurance Rates

State minimum car insurance calculator

Reset

*While state minimum limits are the minimum amount of car insurance required, we recommend getting full coverage of 100/300/100 so that you are fully financially protected. Check our full coverage car insurance rates here.

Insure.com commissioned Quadrant Information Services to calculate average auto insurance rates for vehicles 2006 to 2019.

Our hypothetical driver is a 40-year-old male who commutes 12 miles to work each day, with policy limits of 100/300/50 ($100,000 for injury liability for one person, $300,000 for all injuries and $50,000 for property damage in an accident) and a $500 deductible on collision and comprehensive coverage. The rate also includes uninsured motorist coverage (since some states require it, we do it for all) and PIP or Medical Payments, if it is required by state law. This hypothetical driver has a clean record and good credit.

For liability 100/300 is rates the same hypothetical driver but with liability limits of 100/300/50, uninsured/underinsured motorist in matching amounts and PIP or MedPay, if required by state.

We recommend limits this high, even if you have only liability coverage. A state-minimum policy includes only the basic state liability limits and any other state-required coverages, such as uninsured motorist or PIP.

Averages were calculated using data from six large carriers, such as Allstate, Farmers, GEICO, Nationwide, Progressive and State Farm. Rates were averaged across multiple ZIP codes and insurance companies. Average rates are for comparative purposes; your rate will depend on your personal factors.

Average annual state minimum car insurance rates by state

Drivers are required by law to buy a minimum amount of car insurance coverage in most states. The minimum coverage amount varies by state but typically includes bodily injury and property-damage liability coverage. 

Below are annual state minimum car insurance rates by state.

StateAverage annual premium
Alaska$336
Alabama$420
Arkansas$422
Arizona$494
California$582
Colorado$467
Connecticut$773
Washington D.C.$577
Delaware$821
Florida$908
Georgia$567
Hawaii$389
Iowa$263
Idaho$326
Illinois$484
Indiana$384
Kansas$389
Kentucky$717
Louisiana$726
Massachusetts$523
Maryland$607
Maine$330
Michigan$711
Minnesota$479
Missouri$525
Mississippi$434
Montana$389
North Carolina$396
North Dakota$340
Nebraska$350
New Hampshire*$411
New Jersey$989
New Mexico$376
Nevada$683
New York$875
Ohio$308
Oklahoma$352
Oregon$551
Pennsylvania$398
Rhode Island$648
South Carolina$628
South Dakota$267
Tennessee$368
Texas$520
Utah$526
Virginia$469
Vermont$306
Washington$505
Wisconsin$375
West Virginia$474
Wyoming$293

*New Hampshire does not have a law that requires you to have car insurance. But if you decide to get insurance, you must purchase minimum limits available for liability coverage, i.e., 25/50/25.

What does state minimum car insurance cover?

The minimum amount of coverage required by the states typically includes liability insurance for bodily injury and property damage. However, New Hampshire is an exception.  You are not required to have car insurance in New Hampshire, but you should have enough funds to meet New Hampshire automobile financial responsibility requirements in an “at-fault” accident. And if you decide to purchase car insurance in New Hampshire, you do have to meet the state’s minimum of 25/50/25.

Some states such as Maryland and Maine require drivers to purchase additional types of coverage, such as personal injury protection and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. 

In Virginia, the state laws require you to carry minimum coverage with limits of at least 25/50/20 or you will have to pay an uninsured motorist fee of $500 to the state’s DMV. 

What are minimum car insurance requirements by state?

Most states require drivers to fulfill the minimum driving requirement to take their cars on the road. 

Key acronyms to know:

  • BI- Bodily injury liability
  • PD- Property damage liability
  • UM/UIM- Uninsured and underinsured motorist
  • PIP- Personal Injury protection
  • UM BI- Uninsured bodily injury
  • UIM BI- Underinsured motorist bodily injury
  • UMPD- Uninsured motorist property damage
  • PPI- Payment protection insurance
  • FR- Financial responsibility

The below table shows the minimum car insurance requirements by state.

State Insurance required Coverage limit (BI/PD) UI/UM, PIP Medpay

Alabama

BI/PD liability

25/50/25

None

Alaska

BI/PD liability

50/100/25

None

Arizona

BI/PD liability

25/50/15

None

Arkansas

BI/PD liability, PIP

25/50/25

None

California

BI/PD liability

15/30/5 (2)

None

Colorado

BI/PD liability

25/50/15

None

Connecticut

BI/PD, UM/UIM 

25/50/25

UM/UIM BI: 25/50

Delaware

BI/PD, PIP

25/50/10

PIP: 15/30

District of Columbia (DC)

BI/PD, UM

25/50/10

UM:

Florida

PD, PIP

10/20/10 PD*

PIP

Georgia

BI/PD liability

25/50/25

None

Hawaii

BI/PD, PIP

20/40/10

PIP:10k

Idaho

BI/PD liability

25/50/15

None

Illinois

BI/PD, UM, UIM

25/50/20

UM BI: 25/50

Indiana

BI/PD liability

25/50/25

UM BI: 25/50

Iowa

BI/PD liability

20/40/15

None

Kansas

BI/PD, PIP and UM/UIM

25/50/25

UM/UIM: 25/50


PIP: $4,500/person for medical expenses


$900/month for one year for disability/loss of income


       $25/day for in-home services


$2,000 for funeral, burial or cremation expense


$4,500 for rehabilitation expense

Kentucky

BI/PD, PIP

25/50/25

PIP: 10k

Louisiana

BI/PD liability

15/30/25

None

Maine

BI/PD, UM, Medpay

50/100/25

UM: 50/100


Medical payments: 2k

Maryland

BI/PD, UM, UIM, PIP

30/60/15

UM/UIM: 30/60/15


PIP: $2,500*

Massachusetts

BI/PD, PIP

20/40/5


PIP: 8k

Michigan

BI/PD, PIP

20/40/10

PIP: 6 choices from 50k to unlimited 


PPI: $1,000,000

Minnesota

BI/PD, UM, UIM, PIP

30/60/10

UM/UIM: 25/50


PIP: 40k

Mississippi

BI/PD liability

25/50/25

None

Missouri

BI/PD, UM BI

25/50/25

UM BI: 25/50

Montana

BI/PD liability

25/50/20

None

Nebraska

BI/PD, UM, UIM

25/50/25

UM/UIM: 25/50

Nevada

BI/PD liability

25/50/20

None

New Hampshire

FR* only

25/50/25

UM/UIM BI: 25/50


Medical payments:1k

New Jersey

BI/PD, UM, UIM, PIP

15/30/5



    UM/UIM: 15/30/5


PIP: 15k

New Mexico

BI/PD liability

25/50/10

None

New York

BI/PD, UM, UIM, PIP

25/50/10

UM/UIM: 25/50


PIP: 50k

North Carolina

BI/PD, UM, UIM

30/60/25

UM/UIM: 30/60/25

North Dakota

BI/PD, UM, UIM  PIP

25/50/25

UM/UIM BI: 25/50


PIP: 30k

Ohio

BI/PD liability

25/50/25

None

Oklahoma

BI/PD liability

25/50/25

None

Oregon

BI/PD, UM, PIP, UIM

25/50/20

UM/UIM: 25/50


PIP: 15k

Pennsylvania

BI/PD, PIP

15/30/5

First-party benefits PIP: 5k

Rhode Island

BI/PD liability

25/50/25

None

South Carolina

BI/PD, UM 

25/50/25

UM: 25/50

South Dakota

BI/PD, UM,UIM

25/50/25

UM/UIM: 25/50

Tennessee

BI/PD liability

25/50/15

None

Texas

BI/PD liability

30/60/25

None

Utah

BI/PD, PIP

25/65/15

PIP: 3k

Vermont

BI/PD, UM, UIM

25/50/10

UM/ UIM: 50/100/10

Virginia

BI/PD, UM, UIM

25/50/20

UM/ UIM: 25/50/20

Washington

BI/PD liability

25/50/10

None

West Virginia

BI/PD, UM/UIM

25/50/25

UM/UIM: 25/50/25

Wisconsin

BI/PD, UM, Medpay

25/50/10

UM 25/50

Medpay:1k

Wyoming

BI/PD liability

25/50/20

None

*Florida does not require BI liability but many carriers require 10/20

*In Maryland, full PIP can be waived for a limited PIP option.

*New Hampshire does not require car insurance, but these are the minimum limits if you decide to buy a policy.

Car insurance is a must-have for drivers, even if you live in a state that doesn’t require it. If you’re in an accident, a robust car insurance policy can protect you from being liable for thousands of dollars in damages and medical treatment. 

Sources:

Insurance Information Institute.“ Industry Directory.” Accessed October 2022.

Geico.“Virginia Car Insurance.” Accessed October 2022.

Insurance Information Institute. “Facts + Statistics: Underinsured Motorist.” Accessed October 2022.

Kelly Blue Book. “Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance by State.” Accessed October 2022.

New Hampshire Insurance Department. “2022 Automobile Insurance Consumer Frequently Asked Questions.” Accessed October 2022.

Methodology

Insure.com commissioned Quadrant Information Services in 2022 to find out the rates in every state for state minimum coverage with state-specific limits. We used Insurance Information Institute’s ‘Automobile Financial Responsibility Limits By State’ data which was updated in January 2022 to know every state’s minimum auto insurance requirements. State minimum car insurance rates by state are based on the profile of a 40-year-old male driver with a good insurance score and clean record driving a 2021 Honda Accord LX.

author image
Laura Longero
Executive Editor

 
|
  

Laura Longero is a content strategist and communications leader with more than 15 years of experience in content development in journalism, marketing and communications for start-ups to global companies. She started her career as a reporter and editor and honed her journalistic skills at the USA Today Network, working in several roles, as well as managing content and writing at MoneyGeek and XYZ Media.