Home Car insurance Car Insurance types How to buy uninsured motorist property-damage coverage How to buy uninsured motorist property-damage coverage Written by: Penny Gusner Penny Gusner Penny is an expert on insurance procedures, rates, policies and claims. She has extensive knowledge of all major insurance lines -- auto, homeowners, life and health insurance. She has been answering consumers’ questions as an analyst for more than 15 years and has been featured in numerous major media outlets, including the Washington Post and Kiplinger’s. | Reviewed by: Michelle Megna Michelle Megna Michelle, the former editorial director, insurance, at QuinStreet, is a writer, editor and expert on car insurance and personal finance. Prior to joining QuinStreet, she reported and edited articles on technology, lifestyle, education and government for magazines, websites and major newspapers, including the New York Daily News. | Posted on May 2, 2011 Why you can trust Insure.com Quality Verified At Insure.com, we are committed to providing honest and reliable information so that you can make the best financial decisions for you and your family. All of our content is written and reviewed by industry professionals and insurance experts. We maintain strict editorial independence from insurance companies to maintain our editorial integrity, so our recommendations are unbiased and are based on a comprehensive list of criteria. 29 states have laws addressing Uninsured Motorist Property-Damage (UMPD) coverage States Laws addressing Uninsured Motorist Property-Damage (UMPD) coverage Alaska Insured may reject in writing Arkansas Insured may reject in writing, $200 deductible California Insured may reject in writing Colorado Coverage optional Delaware Accepting UM Coverage includes UMPD District of Columbia UMPD required Georgia UMPD required Hawaii UMPD required Illinois Insured may reject Coverage Indiana Insured may reject in writing Louisiana UMPD required, $250 deductible Maryland UMPD required Mississippi Insured may reject Coverage New Hampshire Not required New Jersey UMPD required New Mexico UMPD required North Carolina UMPD required Ohio Coverage available upon request Oregon UMPD required Rhode Island Mandatory unless rejected in writing, optional ifInsured has collision Coverage South Carolina UMPD required Tennessee Insured may reject Coverage, $200 deductible Texas UMPD required Utah UMPD required if no collision Coverage Vermont UMPD required Virginia UMPD required Washington UMPD required if no collision Coverage West Virginia UMPD required Wyoming Not required Source: Property Casualty Insurers Association of America, 2011 Many people make the mistake of assuming that if their auto insurance policy includes uninsured motorist (UM) coverage, they are completely protected if an uninsured driver crashes into their vehicle. However, standard UM coverage pays only for bodily injury medical expenses that result from an accident caused by an uninsured driver. UM won’t pay for your car damage. If your auto insurance policy includes collision coverage, you don’t have to worry. It will pay for your repairs. But you will need to pay your collision deductible. If you don’t have collision coverage, you may want to consider a coverage type called uninsured motorist property-damage (UMPD). It pays for repairs to your vehicle if you are struck by an uninsured driver, and it doesn’t require a deductible. If you cause an accident yourself, your UMPD does not pay for repairs – you’ll have to rely on collision coverage in that case. UMPD coverage is generally purchased by drivers who don’t have collision coverage. Carrying both UMPD and collision would result in unnecessary redundant coverage — but some states require it. Industry sources say UMPD is not highly sought-after where it’s optional because it applies in only narrow cases: If someone else hits you and they are uninsured. According to data collected by the Property Casualty Insurers Association of America, 29 states have laws addressing UMPD coverage. In some states it is required, in others it’s optional; some states will automatically include it in your policy, but you may reject it in writing. Because of the wide variations, it’s important to consult your insurance agent. States that do not have legislation addressing the issue do not require UMPD. Depending on your insurer, it may or may not be offered in those states.